Cruise Wardrobe in a Bag

No excuses for not posting sooner – blogging mojo has been low.  Just like when I was a kid going to confession, “I’ll try to do better”.

In the next several days we are leaving for a 2 week European vacation followed by a 2 week cruise, followed by Thanksgiving and a wedding in Philly before finding our way back home.  Here’s the dilemma:  We’re budget travelers (within reason that is), not only in how we spend our travel dollars but also in how we pack.  That means my 2600 cc. backpack will be my trusted friend for the next month.  Being a one suitcase kind of person, you can’t imagine the shock-waves that went through my body upon learning that the cruise has 3 formal dinners and 5 semi-formal dinners.  That just doesn’t fit with backpacking.  I’ll tell you more about the plan in a minute, but here, in a 2 gallon ziplock bag, is my dress-clothes cruise wardrobe.

Cruise Wardrobe:

  • A LBD and a long black skirt (LBS) that I can wear with tights or leggings while traveling.
  • 3 sleeveless tops – a black ruffled tank, silk tank left over from my work wardrobe and a lightweight royal Thai silk top from my closet.
  • 3 shawls – 2 silk (one print, one black) and a Pashmina (will be my warm and stylish scarf in cool countries).
  • Wool top with scarf trim (will also wear this while traveling)
  • Chiffon trim that I’ll baste to the LBD neckline for one wearing.
  • Rhinestone brooch.
  • Black sparkly flats (not in the bag).

Here are the pieces of clothing all laid out and ready to pack.

Seems possible to get 8 outfits out of this mix. What do you think?

Travel Wardrobe:

  • Jeans, black pants and a denim skirt.
  • 4 wool knit long sleeve tops
  • 2 very lightweight sweaters for layering
  • Long undies, undies, wool socks, etc
  • Tights and leggings, fleece hoodie, jacket, Pashmina, mittens and gloves.
  • Clogs and a back-up pair of shoes

Wedding attire:

We are cheating on that one.  When Shaun and Deb visited several weeks ago, we sent our wedding clothes with them.  Sure didn’t want to carry that dress around for a month.

Come to think of it, I sure hope the cruise ship has a pressing service or I’m in trouble.

While I don’t sew all of my clothes, this is the first time I’ve traveled with a wardrobe where I’ve sewed every piece of clothing.  Maybe that’s why I haven’t been blogging?  At any rate, I took lots of photos of lessons learned and will share them in future posts.

7 thoughts on “Cruise Wardrobe in a Bag

  1. Pingback: How did that Cruise Wardrobe Work? « FabriCate & Mira

  2. Hello! I simply want to offer you a big thumbs up for the great info you’ve got here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your web site for more soon.

  3. I blog quite often and I genuinely thank you for your information.
    The article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information
    about once a week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

  4. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!

    Extremely helpful info specifically the last part :) I care for such info much.
    I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

