Packed and Ready to Go

2600 cubic inch back packs and a small day bag for each

In the recent days, our conversations with friends and acquaintances have been something like:

Q.  “How many suitcases do you pack for being in Central America for 2 months?”

A.  “One”

Then the long sigh.

As long as you asked, the above photo reveals the answer for me. As you can imagine, Kevin’s packing list is quite different.  Sometimes it would be much easier to be a guy.  Since you can’t tell what the clothing items are,  I’ll follow with a list.  I should also tell you that prior to this photo I had packed my bag twice and still had too much to fit, so I needed to re-think some items.  Here’s where I landed:

  • 2 pair zip-off pants (one zips to shorts and one zips to Capri length)
  • 2 travel skirts
  • 2 button down travel shirts
  • 3 sleeveless shirts
  • 2 short sleeve shirts
  • 2 very lightweight long sleeve t-shirts – one will double as pj top
  • pj bottoms – lightweight cotton
  • wide brim hat
  • undies and socks
  • toiletries
  • toed sandals and flip-flops
  • Fleece zip-up for layering and doubles as a pillow
  • Goretex jacket
  • Camping/packing towel
  • huggies – great for a quick clean-up.  Also double as a stain remover.
  • sunglasses
  • books
  • cards
  • Travel Scrabble (thank you, Shaun)
  • iPod and iPhone – don’t plan to use international service however)
  • Earings – one pair.  Will be easy to purchase locally made jewelry
  • Camera and USB cable, of course
  • Electrical adaptors
  • A few granola bars
  • Crystal Light lemonade packs – for when I’m tired of water.

There are many more small items but this is a good start.

Security

My small bag is a 17″ Ameribag.  It has lots of zippers and in future photos, you’ll see that it has a wide strap, it wears well on my front, and often my arm is on top of the bag which adds some level of security.  It’s not a sure bet but is certainly better than carrying a hand bag.  This is the second one I owned and personally, I wouldn’t travel without it.  In addition I’ll wear a lightweight moneybelt for my passport and one charge card.

2 thoughts on “Packed and Ready to Go

  1. I pray for traveling mercies for your and your husband. This all is so very exciting and I wish nothing but the best for you. God bless

Leave a Reply

