Best Ever Little Black Dress (LBD)

The Uniform Project LBD Pattern

Have you every had difficulty falling asleep because you’re obsessed with re-creating a clothing item you’ve seen?  For me, this usually occurs when I see a piece of ready to wear that I’d like to copy.  Since I saw the video of the Uniform Project Little Black Dress, I’ve not been able to stop thinking about what fabric I would use.  I have no desire to wear it for 365 days like Sheena but the project is easy to capture interest and surely is inspiring.

Then I found that the pattern would soon be available.   Within minutes I signed up for Uniform Project email updates so I would learn when the patten is released.   Today the message came –  the pattern became available for purchase, either with fabric or the pattern only.


Not only do I think about how much fun it would be to make this dress, I also am haunted about who I’ll make it for.  For a travel dress?  At my age?  Oh come on now.  Maybe for my daughters? For Angela who loves red, the dress will likely be a Little Red Dress and for Megan who loves gray…..   Well it won’t be black for her either.

If this wasn’t for a charitable organization, you can bet that I’d try to re-create the pattern however with such a good cause, who wouldn’t want to spend $20 on the pattern or even $50 on the pattern and fabric.

Creative Problem Solving

What is this disease that causes me to think about sewing when I should be falling asleep?  My daughter tells me that this phenomenon is called “creative problem solving”.  One’s mind can’t stop as the brain is trying to process the details that will take the creative challenge to the next step.  For sewists it occurs when we try to figure out how to make a garment;  or for that matter, with any creative task.  Fun or crazy – you decide!

 


4 thoughts on “Best Ever Little Black Dress (LBD)

  1. It’s fun to watch you when you’re trying to solve a creative problem, Mom. I hope you can rest easy tonight now that you’ve figured out the kanzashi flowers and got the LBD pattern. :)

  2. “If this wasn’t for a charitable organization, you can bet that I’d try to re-create the pattern however with such a good cause, who wouldn’t want to spend $20 on the pattern or even $50 on the pattern and fabric. ”

    Absolutely! I’m not succumbing to that temptation, either. Thanks for this post — I just ordered the pattern!

    Getting the fabric was tempting, but I think I may want to play around with that a bit — not to mention that I’ve got a stash that needs obliterating.

    PS — glad the WordPress tips helped!

  3. Sounds like fun! I won’t be sewing along with you though- too many other projects.
    I will take you up on the coat sewalong though! Thanks so much for the pattern. I really, really like it!

Leave a Reply

