What does Spell-Check have to do with Self-esteem?

Why can’t Spell Check get it right?

I freely admit that I’ve never having been much of a writer, which of course is one of the reasons this blog is good for me as I am forced to write.  For some this might come easy however that’s surely not all of us who put words to computer on a regular or not so regular basis.  Unlike my limitations as a writer, minus the typos I’ve always been able to spell pretty well.  Apparently I can’t spell words such as “sew”.

Not surprisingly, the most time-consuming and difficult parts of writing a blog aren’t visible to the reader.  When you get to the very end and are ready to hit the “publish” button, with all good intentions, the system comes back and tells you that your grammar stinks and that you’ve spelled every sewing-related noun or verb incorrectly.  I have to ask if there’s a more salient message in the fact that “Spell Check” rejects any word which seems to describe the activities of this craft?  Is this really one more way of expressing the all to common message that sewing isn’t a worthy skill.  How can one feel his or her skills are valuable when a common verb such as “sew” isn’t recognized by a software program.



You may think I’m just complaining but in my other life I work in health-care, where Spell Check is continually underscoring words and like with the sewing lexicon, the word is a common word for the lay public, much less health-care workers.  Admittedly, I have a complex about computers rejecting what I compose.

Enough whining – I’m sure you’ve got the point.  I’ll never be a great writer or an editor but I will continue to promote the craft that we sewists/seamsters share.

Now that I’m done with this post, I can’t wait to hit the “Publish” button, for the system to ask me if it can tell me the errors of my ways and to again be told that “sew” isn’t a real word.

PS.  Yes, that’s what just happened!


5 thoughts on “What does Spell-Check have to do with Self-esteem?

  1. Spell Check must either be a guy, or a very shallow female! As we speak- well, as I type, Mike is on one of his training cycles getting ready to leave for Ragbrai later this week!

  2. LOL! This post is so true!!! I expect Burda and BWOF to be recognized as errors. But not serger! Just one more thing in the universe that devalues us!

  3. Right-click on each of the underlined words. You’ll get WordPress’ take on what you should be using — for instance, it will probably put the accent in appliqué. In fact, it just did for me!

    Either highlight WordPress’ choice, or click “add to dictionary”. Once you add your choice to the dictionary, it won’t turn up underlined again, and you’ll have one less thing to worry about when blogging.

  4. Thank you Noile. Now that I’ve complained to the world about this, I can take your advice. You are a great WordPress resource. By the way, the system underscored “Noile” which I would expect, but also underscored “WordPress”. LOL!

  5. Yes, and it may be highlighting words which just MIGHT be wrong because it can’t actually understand what you’re writing. So it may be set to highlight words which people often confuse like principle/principal (and maybe seam/seem). It’s just trying to help (but yes, I do “teach” it a lot of new words in the way Noile suggests). I wish it would highlight more sometimes – I have lost count of the number of blogs in which fabric “lays” on the cutting table….

Leave a Reply

