A Tribute to Anne

Our hearts are heavy tonight as our soon to be daughter-in-law, Deb, lost her mother today.  With only weeks to go until Deb and our son, Shaun will be married, Anne lost a courageous battle with a devastating illness she could not conquer.

I didn’t know Anne well, but I spent enough time with her to know that she adored her children and her granddaughter.  I’ve also spent enough time with Deb to know that Anne instilled in her children the attributes one can always be proud to possess: kindness, gentleness, love, joy, personal strength and courage.

Through her many years of teaching, I am sure she touched hundreds of adolescents in ways we will never know.  She was a great cook and a wonderful host.  Tonight I would like to honor Anne, who was a lovely person to be with and a classy Southern Lady.

If there is happiness in my heart,
it’s because you helped put it there.

If there is gentleness in my beliefs,
it’s because you showed me how to care.

If there is understanding in my thinking,
it’s because you shared your wisdom.

If there is a rainbow over my shoulder,
it’s because of your outlook and your vision.

If there is a knowledge that I can reach out –
and I really can make some dreams come true –
it’s because I learned from the best teacher of all. . .
. . . I learned from you.

A mother’s heart is a special place where children always have a home.

author unknown

2 thoughts on “A Tribute to Anne

  1. Annette, How nice to see such a kind tribute. I’m sure it means a lot to the family. Barb

Leave a Reply

