The Wedding’s this Saturday

10 things to do when your daughter’s wedding is one week away

After many months of planning and sewing, Megan’s wedding is Saturday.  She’s lives in Minneapolis and we’re in Philadelphia so while I’ve been sewing, Megan and Chris have planned for and arranged all of the event details.  We’ll travel on Wednesday, which will hopefully allow us to relax and enjoy some time together before the big day.  This will also leave enough time to make another set of final alterations on Megan’s dress.  She has a sewing machine on call for me and I’ve left the bodice lining open for now, just in case.  The last fitting was in early May, followed by a few adjustments.  Fingers crossed on this one.

This weekend we were busy with last-minute details, so I’ve put together the top 10 things to do one week before your daughter’s wedding:

10.  Get rid of the grey.

9.  Press Kevin’s new suit, which was in need of some alterations.  I braved it and shortened the sleeves on his suit and my son Shaun’s.  I think they were feeling left out as I made dresses for the other family members, so they purchased suits that needed to be altered.  It was a little nerve wrecking as it’s years since I last did this type of adjustment.  Both turned out great.  In fact, someone should really do a tutorial on how to shorten suit sleeves – there was hardly any information on the web.

8.  Return Deb’s (future DIL) dress which needed to be hemmed.

7.  Purchase a back-up zipper.  Ever since Connie told me her horror story, I have acquired a case of “zipper anxiety”.  On the morning of her daughter’s wedding, she tried her dress on for a last look.  Connie noticed that her zipper was separating and she didn’t have a back-up.  She had to run out, find a zipper and put it in the dress before her daughter got dressed.  Now you know why I’m anxious.

6.  Pack.  Oh my, this won’t be a trip where we travel light.

5.  Finish my dress. It’s close but needed a hem and some embellishment.

4.  Vacuum – after making a dress from green Thai silk, we now have green threads all over the house.  Usually I’m able to control the proliferation of strings but not this time.  At least it’s a pretty color.

3. Pack up all of the remnants from the sewing – decide which do I keep and which go to the second-hand shop.

2. Sew bling on the wedding dress.

1.  Watch “Father of the Bride”.   There’s a family tale that in the last several weeks before DD Angela and SIL Stephen were married, Kevin was more intense than usual (maybe I, too was out of sorts but I didn’t notice).  Not being quite sure why there was this change in his behavior, I decided that a bit of comic relief was in order.  The Sunday before her wedding, we watched this movie – it was exactly what we needed to help us make it through this developmental stage of our lives.

Stay tuned for wedding photos in about a week.

3 thoughts on “The Wedding’s this Saturday

  1. Breathe! You’ll be fine, you will look gorgeous, as will the bride and the flowergirls! I am sending happy zipper zen thoughts your way. I love the dress bling by the way. Is your second hand shop a consignment shop or one of the thrift shops near KAren?
    HAVE FUN and Congratulations on a job- many jobs- well done!!

  2. I can’t wait to see the pictures of all your hard work. I’m sure everything will be fabulous, but it sounds like you’re prepared for all eventualities, which means they won’t happen!

    Relax and enjoy, call me when you get back.

Leave a Reply

