Toilet Paper Wedding Dresses

Creations for Non-Sewers

While everyone isn’t blessed with the ability to sew, I’m sure that like me, many of you wish your friends and family would just give sewing a try.  Maybe they would like it.  Instead we hear things like, “I could never do that” or “I don’t have the patience”.  Worst of all is the person who assumes that every garment will look like the horrible project from Junior High.  Many years ago my first project was an apron.  At that time, even my mother didn’t wear one, so why would I consider it enjoyable to sew a dowdy apron?  Years later my children made items like football pillows or a gym bag.

Here’s a project for sewers and non-sewers alike, and I’m guessing it built much more confidence than an apron or a pillow. Recently at a bridal shower for my daughter Megan, the women divided into groups, each with rolls of toilet paper in hand and a three to seven-year old waiting to become a bride.  With each group gathered in a different part of the house so we wouldn’t “cheat” and look at the other ideas, the participants in each group thought about and created the design, carefully wrapped, tied and tucked. Here are the models and dresses in the making.

After about 20 minutes, we had 5 beautiful brides and about 20 adults who enjoyed creating the garments.  Aren’t they adorable?

Aunt Eileen, thank you for the creative and fun project.

One thought on “Toilet Paper Wedding Dresses

Leave a Reply

